Cambridge Exams


The Cambridge English exams are administered by Cambridge University and offer a standardised overview of non-native speaker's English proficiency level.

Cambridge Exams

The Cambridge English exams are a well-renowned qualification and are recognised by universities and employers globally as an assessment of non-native English speaker's skills in the written and spoken language.


What is the B1 Preliminary (PET)? 

The B1 Preliminary (PET) is an intermediate level exam. It corresponds to CEFR level B1 and indicates the ability to use English skills in the world of work, for studies and for travel. 


What is the B2 First (FCE)? 

The B2 First (FCE) is an advanced intermediate level exam. It corresponds to level B2 of the CEFR and certifies the ability to use written and spoken English at work or for academic purposes.


What is the C1 Advanced (CAE)? 

The C1 Advanced (CAE) is an advanced level exam. It corresponds to level C1 of the CEFR. It proves that the candidate has the English language skills to work on complex research and communicate effectively on a professional level. 


What is the C2 Proficiency (CPE)? 

The C2 Proficiency (CPE) is an advanced higher level exam corresponding to level C2 of the CEFR. This indicates an extremely high level of English that could be needed to work in a very senior professional or academic environment, for example on a postgraduate or PhD programme.


Each exam varies slightly in format, but all exams are designed to give a comprehensive overview of the candidate's English proficiency level by assessing the key skills of reading, writing, speaking and listening.